Misdemeanor Defense Attorneys in Germantown & Somerville
Defending Misdemeanor Charges Throughout West Tennessee
At Snider & Horner, PLLC, we offer comprehensive representation for Tennesseans charged with misdemeanors. Our Germantown criminal defense attorneys have helped numerous clients find a successful outcome to their criminal cases, from dismissals to acquittals to reduced sentences.
Do you Need a Attorney For a Misdemeanor?
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor crime, you have a lot at stake. Just because a misdemeanor is less severe than a felony crime doesn’t mean you should represent yourself or take the matter lightly. Whether it is your first or third run-in with the law, you need a capable criminal defense attorney who can protect your rights and your freedom.
Are you facing a misdemeanor charge in West Tennessee? Our Germantown & Somerville misdemeanor attorney is ready to represent you. Call Snider & Horner, PLLC today at (901) 730-8880 or contact us online to get started!
Examples of Misdemeanor Crimes in Tennessee
Generally speaking, misdemeanors are less severe than felonies. That said, it is still in your best interest to retain an experienced defense attorney who can reduce the impact that this incident has on your family and your future. In most instances, misdemeanor cases are resolved before a trial. This may be due to a plea bargain being reached or the case has been dismissed by the court or prosecutor.
Examples of misdemeanors include:
- Simple drug possession
- First-offense DUI without any bodily injury
- Indecent exposure
What are the Penalties for a Misdemeanor?
In Tennessee, a misdemeanor is a crime that is punished by no more than one year in jail. Misdemeanors are categorized into three classes: A, B, and C. The penalties you face depend on the class of misdemeanor you are charged with.
Potential penalties are as follows:
- Tennessee Class A misdemeanor: Up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500
- Tennessee Class B misdemeanor: Up to six months in jail and up to $500 in fines
- Tennessee Class C misdemeanor: Up to 30 days in jail and up to $50 in fines
Most misdemeanors in Tennessee have a one-year statute of limitations.
Start Your Defense Today
The immediate penalties for a minor misdemeanor may not seem that bad, but consider the long-term impacts that a conviction can have on your life. Even a misdemeanor conviction will remain on your criminal record and potentially impede your ability to find a job, rent a home, or obtain a loan. You may have to put certain parts of your life on hold just because you have a misdemeanor conviction. Plus, there is the social stigma of having a criminal record to deal with.
To improve your chances of a favorable resolution, work with our team at Snider & Horner, PLLC. We have decades of experience that we are ready to put to work for you. We fight hard to obtain positive outcomes on behalf of our clients.
“I will forever be grateful to this office for aggressively fighting for my rights.”- Jospeh
“This law firm is the bomb! I have used Kevin Snider, Gail Horner and the rest of the team for many years in all types of matters. They are all amazing and I would never go anywhere else!”- Adolfo